Grace Hopper Celebration 2010: Day 1 (28 September)

After traveling for seven hours I finally made it to Atlanta! The Hyatt Regency is both gigantic and beautiful, and when I walked in I could not help but feel even more grateful about the fact that I received the scholarship to come to Grace Hopper, and that my hotel bill was included in that scholarship.

Hyatt Regency Atlanta

Hyatt Regency Atlanta

Hyatt Regency Atlanta : Where the conference was held

Hyatt Regency Atlanta: Where the conference was held

Registration started at 3, and they gave us nametags and bags containing a vast variety of goodies, including a water bottle, three lip balm/gloss, plenty of pens, screwdrivers, post-its, a flashlight, two flash drives, and an assortment of information packets about various programs.

Later I went to the Resume Clinic, where a representative from Microsoft offered me advice on how to improve my resume. The most significant advice he gave me was not to be afraid to expand my resume to two, or maybe even three, pages. From here I went to an interview for Barclays Capital, and then onto the Career Fair. The Big Three were there (Apple, Microsoft, and Google), along with Intel, IBM, HP, Yahoo!, MIT Lincoln Lab, NSA, and a number of other companies. They all asked for copies of my résumé, so it was a good thing I decided to print a few copies before coming to the conference! One of the HP representatives, after discussing my résumé at the booth, allowed me to talk further with a recent hire (Tyelisa Shields), who gave me a lot of useful information about HP and about the other companies she passed over in her job search. It was easily one of the most informative discussions I’ve had about careers so far, and I’m glad I stopped by the table!

The Google Booth

The Google Booth

The Microsoft Booth

The Microsoft Booth

The Intel, Intuit, and NSA Booths

The Intel, Intuit, and NSA Booths

The Salesforce Booth

The Salesforce Booth

By the time I had made my rounds the fair was coming to a close, so I went back to my room to sort through all the fancy souvenirs I had obtained. Can’t wait for the rest of the week!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

